#5 New Belgium Rampant Imperial IPA

New Belgium Rampant Imperial IPA

#5 New Belgium Rampant Imperial IPA

Type: Imperial India Pale Ale
Container: Bottle
ABV: 8.5%
Sticker Price: $12.99/12-pack of assorted flavors

I find I like a lot of what New Belgium puts out. This style is new to me: an Imperial IPA. I looked it up on BrewWiki: “Imperial IPA is a very hoppy, high alcohol strong ale approaching barley wine in strength, but without the maltiness of barley wine.” This one surely meets that definition. More than just an attempt to put more alcohol in their beer, there’s a lot to like here.

  • Rating (5=best): 4
  • Nose: Mango, peach, grass, floral and piney hops.
  • Flavor: Sweet malts, toasty flavors. Warm bitterness. Alcohol blends well.
  • Finish: Pleasant and smooth hop bitterness, wood, grapefruit. Lingers for a while.
  • Notes: Very smooth and pleasant IPA. While there are definitely plenty of hops, they are rounded out by a malty sweetness that makes this very enjoyable. I’d be happy if the alcohol volume was less just so I could drink more without feeling tipsy so quickly. Approach with caution!
  • Shilpi: She didn’t get to try this one. There were only two in the pack and I drank both of them.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment