#15 Hoegaarden

Hoegaarden

#15 Hoegaarden

Type: Witbier
Container: Bottle
ABV: 4.9%
Sticker Price: $8.99/6-pack of bottles

When I started drinking beer, I thought I hated any beer with wheat in it. I’m happy to say I have learned better and generally enjoy them. There are better and there are worse, but Hoegaarden is the standard for me. While it’s a tad more expensive than others in the aisle, it’s worth every penny. It’s even better on tap.

  • Rating (5=best): 4
  • Nose: Bright grain, coriander, banana, hint of clove.
  • Flavor: Crisp citrus, lemon, orange rind, floral notes. Sweet cake with a slight citrus pith or grapefruit bitterness toward the finish.
  • Finish: The carbonation whisks it away quickly but look for a cross between a fruity gum and jasmine green tea flavors. Mmm!
  • Notes: Lovely fine carbonation gives this a creamy mouthfeel while the bright spicy citrus flavors cleanse the palate. Great for hot weather and fatty foods. Can’t wait for the next barbecue!
  • Shilpi: “It was the first beer I drank where I thought, ‘Oh, this isn’t that bad!'”

One response to “#15 Hoegaarden”

  1. Pdubyah says :

    I like Hoegaarden, i really like Leffe too, they’re sweeter and just as nice. I have either one or he other in the fridge at most times.

Leave a comment