#34 Carlsberg Elephant

#34 Carlsberg Elephant

Type: Strong Pilsner
Container: Bottle
ABV: 7.2%
Sticker Price: $8.99/6-pack of 11.2 oz bottles

I like pilsners. Maybe it has something to do with my Wisconsin DNA. They’re great with food on a hot day. This one isn’t the best but it does pack a punch.

  • Rating (5=best): 3
  • Nose: A bit of cereal and quite yeasty.
  • Flavor: Sweet malty flavor balanced by a nice bitterness that reminds me of grapefruit rind crossed with fresh grass clippings.
  • Finish: Boozy, dark bitter finish. Can definitely taste the high alcohol content but it isn’t harsh.
  • Notes: This starts out great but then drags you down both in flavor and alcohol. I’m missing the crisp, palate cleansing quality I look for in a pilsner. I like it but I don’t love it.
  • Shilpi: “It’s lacking in flavor. It’s a little caramelly. It’s not bad.”

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a comment